9/22/16 – World Baseball Classic Qualifier (Part 2)

A week or so ago, I blogged about my experience at the World Baseball Classic qualifier between Brazil and Pakistan on Thursday, September 22nd, including my effort to get one of the dugout lineup cards.  I managed to get one of the official batting order cards, but the WBC staff were collecting the dugout lineup cards.  I was told that I would have to ask someone from MLB PR for the lineup card, but the person didn’t know if there was anyone from MLB PR at the game, so that was a dead end.

The following Monday, I decided to take a shot at contacting someone from MLB PR to see if it would be possible to get one of the dugout lineup cards.  There was no obvious person to contact, so I tried one but did not get a response.  I tried another contact later that week, but didn’t hear anything for more than a week, so I figured it was done.

Therefore, I was very surprised to receive an email on Monday, October 10th, from a different person at MLB who my email had been forwarded to.  Not only did he email me, but the email said I would be getting one of the lineup card delivered to me that day.

Sure enough, when I got home, the lineup card had arrived and was in great shape!

WBC Lineup card

Of course, I would have been happy with the lineup card from either Pakistan or Brazil’s dugout, but the fact that I was sent the Brazil lineup card made it even a little better given that the lineup card is signed by Brazil manager and Hall of Famer Barry Larkin.

There are a couple names of interest in the Brazil lineup.  The Bichette brothers are the sons of long-time Major Leaguer Dante Bichette.  Dante Bichette Jr is currently in the Yankees organization.  Bo, just 18, was a 2nd round pick by the Blue Jays earlier this year.

Also of interest, the Brazilian national team includes a number of Japanese-Brazilian players.

One final point of interest: If you look at the upper right-hand corner of the card, you’ll see a small sticker that MLB uses to authenticate items, usually game-used items.  I saw someone authenticating baseballs during the game.  I’m not sure why, as I can’t see much of a market for game-used items from a Brazil-Pakistan WBC qualifier game, but who knows.  At any rate, they also authenticated the lineup card (Code: “JB 419472”), which is cool.  It is our only “authenticated” lineup card.

WBC Lineup card (2)

But where it gets interesting is that when I look up the code, it comes back as a “replica lineup card” from Brazil.  The next number up (JB 419473) comes up with the same exact description. Going one number lower (JB 419471) yields “game-used lineup card” from Pakistan.

So, what’s the deal?

I’m pretty certain the card I was sent was what was in the Brazil dugout: there are some indentations from pen marks on the back of the card, so it is not a copy in that sense.  Could Brazil have filled out two lineup cards?  Sure, but the card I have still has the masking tape on it that presumably held it to the dugout wall.  My guess is that the description in the authentication is wrong, especially since it indicated that there were two Brazil “replica” lineup cards but no “game-used” card.

If I wanted to sell the card. I guess this would matter, but I have no intentions of selling it, so it is just a curiosity.

Thanks to MLB for being so generous!

2016: 59 lineup cards (41 dugout/bullpen; 18 “official batting order”)

Lifetime: 121 lineup cards (88 dugout/bullpen; 32 “official batting order”; and 2 “relief pitcher usage”)

Leagues: MLB: American League; National League. MiLB: International League; Eastern League; Carolina League; New York-Penn League; Southern League. Independent Leagues: Atlantic League; Can-Am League; American Association. Colleges: NCAA – American Athletic Conference; NCAA – Ivy League; NCAA – Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference; NCAA – Northeast Conference; Cape Cod League; New England Collegiate Baseball League (NECBL); Futures Collegiate Baseball League (FCBL); Cal Ripken Summer Collegiate League. International: World Baseball Classic (qualifying round, 2016).

 

Leave a Reply

