3/25/17 – Look What I Found…

I went to my nephew’s Junior College double-header on Saturday. I got there in the bottom of the first inning.

AP5_LI

In the above picture, my car is the white one with a light red “X” drawn on it.  I walked down to the outfield fence you can see above, which is right-center.  I was planning on walking to the RF foul pole and then down the first base line to watch the game from there.

There was a baseball right about where the red “circle” is at the fence, on my side of it.  I picked it up…

AVP 4

…it was a Toronto Blue Jays’ 40th season commemorative!

I can only guess as to how it got there.  While well-used, it was dry, so my suspicion is that it was a practice ball for one of the two teams.  Whatever the case, I was thrilled to find it.

The whole first base/right field line side of the field had thick pricker bushes, so there were tons of balls to be found.  Most were from the New England Collegiate Baseball League (NECBL) along with a myriad of practice balls, although I also found this one.

AVP 1

It’s in awful shape, obviously, but you can still make out “Pacific Coast League.”  Virtually all of the balls I found, aside from the three gamers I kept (I gave the rest back to the teams), were in similar condition.

My nephew’s team swept the DH.  After the second game, I got the lineup cards from the home plate umpire.  Here was my haul for the day.

AVP 2

 

2017: 3 lineup cards (0 dugout/bullpen; 3 “official batting order”)

Lifetime: 124 lineup cards (87 dugout/bullpen; 35 “official batting order”; and 2 “relief pitcher usage”)

Leagues: MLB: American League; National League. MiLB: International League; Eastern League; Carolina League; New York-Penn League; Southern League. Independent Leagues: Atlantic League; Can-Am League; American Association. Colleges: NCAA – American Athletic Conference; NCAA – Ivy League; NCAA – Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference; NCAA – Northeast Conference; Cape Cod League; NJCAA – Region XXI; New England Collegiate Baseball League (NECBL); Futures Collegiate Baseball League (FCBL); Cal Ripken Summer Collegiate League. International: World Baseball Classic (qualifying round, 2016).
Leave a Reply

